What is LEED?

back to blog

At Sterling Homes, in Cincinnati, Oh, we know that green building is the way the future. It is now the standard in commercial building, and LEED for residential homes has really become prominent in the more recent years. So what exactly does LEED mean? LEED stands for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design, and is simply a certification process that was set up by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) to certify green homes. LEED details the code that all parties who touch the home – from architects, to builders & developers, to the subcontractors will follow.

People often hear that a project is LEED certified Silver or Gold status. There are actually four levels of LEED certification, and projects are awarded points as a project is built. Depending upon the number of points received, the project is awarded certified, silver, gold or platinum status.

According to the USGBC, there are nine key areas measured by LEED:

  • Sustainable Sites
  • Water Efficiency
  • Energy and Atmosphere
  • Materials and Resources
  • Indoor Environmental Quality
  • Location and Linkages
  • Awareness and Education
  • Innovation in Design
  • Regional Priority

Note: a home can be considered a Green Home, but NOT LEED-certified. A completely custom green home can be built, using all of the same products and processes, and yet the homeowners may choose NOT to get the home LEED certified. Some homeowners feel it is enough to know that their home has been built according to green building standards, and is more efficient and well-built, but choose not to to through the process and expense of the LEED certification process.

Here is a helpful link to learn more about this process: http://greenhomeguide.com/program/leed-for-homes.

At Sterling Homes, we build homes that dreams are made of, and we support our homeowners in whatever path they choose.